“He is a young man. He has had a few off the field issues, as we all do. Sometimes they get blown out of proportion.

“So I will manage him as best I can and he has to concentrate on his football and if he does I am sure he will be a very good acquisition for the club.

“I have always liked his attitude on the field and having spoken to a lot of people who have played with him and worked with him, managers, they have spoken very highly of him.

“He is an engaging personality, he is quite quiet. Like most people who come with reputations he is not what you would expect.

“He seems quite a focused kid, he knows what he wants and he is delighted to be here. So we are very pleased.

“We think he is value for money. He’s a prolific scorer, knows the environment here and I think we can make him better.”

